Hot Wire, Blood and Blisters.

During my sculpting roundabouts, I had the opportunity to do a little spot welding. I enjoyed it at first, but eventually it got a little frustrating. Nothing I did wanted to work and I look at other peoples projects and they all look incredible. I started with a small idea that was inspired by the Blackburn Museum and Art Gallery. I wanted to make a small church out of wire and hang three small windows inside from string, then photograph it by shadow casting. This didn’t work out to say the least.

Image

You can see in this photograph that my work wasn’t what you would call ‘Grade A’ art work. In fact, after all the effort from lining it all up and after a few cuts and burns, it all snapped and fell to pieces. I was ready to give up at this point. However, I didn’t. I actually sat and thought about what other things I could do. Maybe something a little more easy. I then remembered the documentary I tried to make. There was a shot of a Japanese warrior stabbing a guy in the heart with a spear. I thought about how the piece made me feel. It kind of made me feel a little angry. The fact that these two men, who probably had never met had a fight to the death because an authoritative figure told them too. It kind of made me think about how everything has changed, but at the same time. Nothing has. If someone told me to jump off a building, I wouldn’t. However if I was at war, I would probably shoot to kill. It’s quite sad when you really think about it. How people react differently in situations you cannot control. It makes me look at the art piece and wonder, ‘what would I do?’

Image

This isn’t the same image, but it is very similar in style.

So, I decided that I was going to create a 3D model of that section of the painting. Again, it didn’t really work the way I wanted too, but I want to try and photograph it while shadow casting. Here are some photographs I took of my sculpture.

Image

The first thing I did was make the head. I did this by wrapping the wire around a lead casting block. I then made the body and the stand by bending the wire. It wasn’t really all that hard to do the first part. I then needed to weld the head and body together, so I welded it at two points at the bottom of the head to make it stronger.

Image

The next thing I did was make the spear and arm. For this I got a piece of thick wire, welded it to the body and curled it at the end for a hand. I then wrapped some thinner wire around the base of the hand to hold the spear in place. I also started to (try) make the facial expression on the head by curling a small piece of wire and welding it on the inside of the head.

Image

The rest of the facial expression was done with thinner wire. I wrapped the thin wire around the mouth to attempt to make gritted teeth and I also welded a bow of thin wire to the top of the face to create an eye. It doesn’t look very good, but I’m sure it will look better during the shadow cast.

Image

I then followed the same steps to try and make a victim of my sculptures wire spear. However, this really didn’t work. My victim looks a little like the cartoon character Salad Fingers.

Image

This is Salad Fingers.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I learned a lot from this experience, even though my work wasn’t really all that good. I learned how to spot weld wire and I even got a small qualification in spot welding. I really enjoyed it and I would love to play with it again some day.

Image

Leave a Reply

