Playing With Cape Town Footage

So today I decided I was going to look through the footage from the Cape Town trip, and I thought what better way to do so than making something? I took footage mainly from the townships because that is what I want my multi screen video to be based around. I also took some footage from the waterfront as I may or may not use them to show how close these places are and how different they are. Anyway, I looked through the footage on Premiere Pro CS6 and pulled some of it out into the sequence. I cut them together and made a small video. I’m not looking to do anything else with it, it was purely to see what I could get from the footage for my multi screen video

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 11.15.10

U2 – A Beautiful Day was a perfect song for me to use. My experience of Langa was quite mixed. I saw all of this poverty and destruction, however the public were incredibly happy. Especially the children and I thought this song captured that perfectly.

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 11.15.40

I only wanted to make a short video so I shortened the song by cutting half of it out and fading the end out in Adobe Audition.

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 11.16.03

This screenshot shows the fade.

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 11.14.48

I also faded the video in at the beginning and faded it out at the end.

 Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 11.14.41

This is the final edit.

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 11.14.10

After I upload this I’m going to make a start at researching how to present and create a multi screen video installation. Then I plan to make a start on my first project.

Leave a Reply

