The Self Perception Theory

So, it turns out the name I gave my fat film already exists in psychology and philosophy. I’ve been looking into it and it is completely different to what I imagined it would be. I thought it would be similar to what I experienced through my film, how the realisation of how we perceive ourselves and that confrontation, can really change your perspective and give you new found courage and confidence, to be the change you always wanted to be, but it is indeed extremely different.

Self-perception theory (SPT) is an account of attitude formation developed by psychologist Daryl Bem. It asserts that people develop their attitudes (when there is no previous attitude-due to a lack of experience, etc– and the emotional response is ambiguous) by observing their own behavior and concluding what attitudes must have caused it. The theory is counter intuitive in nature, as the conventional wisdom is that attitudes determine behaviors. Furthermore, the theory suggests that people induce attitudes without accessing internal cognition and mood states. The person interprets their own overt behaviors rationally in the same way they attempt to explain others’ behaviors.”

Wikipedia. (2012). Self-perception theory. Available: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-perception_theory. Last accessed 21/05/2014.

This is really quite interesting, the idea that the human race often doesn’t know how they feel emotionally, so they search there behavior and body language to determine their feelings. I’m not entirely convinced that this is true.

I also found this video with a better explanation to the self perception theory.

http://education-portal.com/academy/lesson/self-perception-theory-definition-and-examples.html#lesson

I will research this theory more as I feel that this development could help me generate ideas for my FMP.

Leave a Reply

