Editing Art – The Edit

I looked over the footage and I’m extremely happy with it, it looks amazing and I’m really excited to see it set up as an installation. Firstly, I put the clips into different sequences named: Sequence One, Sequence Two, Sequence Three and Sequence Four. Then I experimented a little with the clips. I played with some of the video effects just to see what kind of difference it would make. The first thing I did was made the clips black and white, but as I watched them through, I felt that the video needed to be in colour as they are supposed to be projecting powerful emotions, so I removed the black and white effect. The uncut clips really seemed that it didn’t give off the effect I wanted. It’s supposed to be grungy and look like it was filmed on an old VHS recorder. I’m not sure why I want that sort of style, I just really like it. I guess it’s probably the influence of older video art from artists like; Sam Taylor-Wood, Bruce Nauman and Gary Hill. Their work seemed very grimy and gritty and I really enjoy that style. So, in retrospect to this, I added noise. Not a lot, but just enough to give it that grunge effect.

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.39.29

Screenshot of the clip with no effects.

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.39.58

Screenshot of the clip with black and white.

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.40.10

Clip with noise at 36.0%

I continued to experiment with the clips and my experimentation led me to the three way colour corrector. I just wanted to add a more vibrant colour to my character. So I took the Midtones eyedrop tool and selected a colourful part of his face and then played with the wheel. Obviously I didn’t really want to add colour’s like green or blue, so I added a little bit of orange to lighten up the skin. I really liked the effect and when I was happy with a setting, I copied the clip and pasted the attributes to the other sequences. I continued to play with the three way colour corrector. This time, I selected the highlights eyedrop and clicked the blank background. I realised that these kinds of backdrops are great for playing with as there is nothing there to distract you. there is all that space to lay with. I decided to look into the emotions and add the colour associated with that emotion. For example; red is the colour of anger, blue the colour of sadness etc. I carefully added these colours and played with the settings. If I turned up the transparency too much, the colours would bleed into my character and I really didn’t want that. So I had to take extra care when adding the colours. The end result for me was quite satisfying. I feel as though I had met my aims in making this video. The colour added depth and the noise gave it that grainy, retro look I wanted. I’m happy with the outcome. The final thing I did was removing the sound. I unlinked all the clips in the sequences and deleted the sound.

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.40.26

Screenshot of the anger clip with the red colouring in the background.

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.40.35

Screen shot of the three way colour corrector for the anger clip.

Overall I am extremely happy with my edit and I cannot wait to exhibit it and see it in action. It has been an absolute pleasure working on this piece and I can already see the progression in my technical and editing skills. This has been such an amazing experience. Next is installing it!

Leave a Reply

