Influences: Sam-Taylor Wood

hqdefault

When I was studying my pre-degree, I became very interested in performance art. One of the performance artists I became fond of, was Sam-Taylor Wood. Now, Sam-Taylor Johnson. I was completely intrigued by her work and the way that she expressed her femininity and herself. She did this in a series of self-portraits, the portraits have been exhibited in galleries all over the world. One of my favourites is a portrait of her, holding Robert Downy Jnr in the fetal position, during the time of his addiction to Heroine. This photograph is incredibly inspiring because it puts someone who is completely vulnerable and poisoned by a vicious addiction and makes them look human. This has taught me to treat my work with empathy, and to bring out something real to provoke reaction in my work.

Leave a Reply

