Cracking Portrait

pail

I decided to make disabilities as one of my subjects and this is my younger brother Paul. He’s 15 years old and has Aspergers syndrome. He’s a good kid, he’s smart and has a bright future ahead of him. However, it is always overshadowed by his mental health as he has trouble communicating how he feels. So the idea to make his face cracked to signify his struggle came about.

cracked_mud.jpg

I began by putting the texture over his face and changing the opacity levels to a level I could work with comfortably. I then cropped the texture and placed it over his face. Using the liquify tool, and manually melting the texture, it eventually molded around his face. I then changed the colour to match his skin tone and lifted the levels to get my final image.

IMG_3505-Edit

Leave a Reply

